Wednesday January 11, 2017
It proved a difficult night for BMR Rocket Davey Watt in the third round of the Australian National Championship series.

The Queensland State titlist was left chasing the pack after placing third behind Max Fricke and Jordan Stewart in his opening ride at Undera, and did not fully hit his best until winning his final outing in what proved a 7 point haul.

After leading the series after the first two rounds at Gillman and Mildura, Watt is now joint-third in the standings alongside Fricke, still very much in with a shout of a rostrum place but some 7 points behind new leader Justin Sedgmen and 4 behind Sam Masters, with the deciding round set for Kurri Kurri on Saturday.

Sedgmen captured the “A” Final from Masters, with Fricke third and Troy Batchelor fourth on the night.

Scorers (main 20 race programme):

Troy Batchelor 14, Sam Masters 14, Justin Sedgmen 13 (qualified directly to “A” Final), Max Fricke 12, Jack Holder 10, Brady Kurtz 10, Nick Morris 9 (qualified for “B” Final), Davey Watt 7, Jordan Stewart 7, Rohan Tungate 6, Mason Campton 5, Ty Proctor 4, Jaimon Lidsey 4, Josh Pickering 2, Todd Kurtz 2, Cooper Riordan 1

“B” Final (winner through to “A” Final):

Max Fricke, Jack Holder, Brady Kurtz (ret), Nick Morris (fex)

A” Final;

Justin Sedgmen, Sam Masters, Max Fricke, Troy Batchelor

Series Standings after 3 rounds:

1 Justin Sedgmen 46, 2 Sam Masters 43, 3= Dave Watt 39, Max Fricke 39, 5 Troy Batchelor 35, 6 Nick Morris 31, 7 Brady Kurtz 25, 8 Jack Holder 23, 9 Rohan Tungate 19, 10 Ty Proctor 16, 11= Josh Pickering 15, Jaimon Lidsey 15, 13 Mason Campton 12, 14 Todd Kurtz 11, 15 Jordan Stewart 13, 16 Cooper Riordan 7